• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Said Goodbye to one of my students, he is off to college

Melensdad

Jerk in a Hawaiian Shirt & SNOWCAT Moderator
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
We used to call him 'short Dom' when he was a freshman, he was a flabby dumb kid who fell in love with fencing. He weapon is Epee, and I'm a Saber coach, so I knew him casually. He joined the Marian Catholic H.S. team, and then immediately joined my fencing club. Very quickly thereafter he found a private coach, a former Polish Olympian who also was a past coach at Notre Dame. He started working out, firmed up the flab to the pointed that his body is now toned and muscular. He got his grades up and started to take school seriously. During his sophomore year he started to talk to me and I helped coach his mental attitude on the fencing strip during competitions, helping him focus. Normally his private coach would do that at competitions but private coaches don't attend our high school conference events. So I became one of his coaches, quite by accident.

Relationship evolved and he started to focus on competitions outside of high school events and as I happened to travel to events I found myself at the same tournament as he was attending, but I was there with saber fencers. So I'd spend time with Dom during his events too. Eventually I would take him to events. Frequently I would recommend events for him where he could excel.