• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

How to test Bombardier J5 alternator and regulator

jflarin

Hi,
I have a Bombardier J5 that developped a new problem: it does not want to start all the time. In fact, the starter relay engages but the started does not turn.
While investigating that, I found that battery voltage is pretty low even when the engine is running (12.3 V). I'd expect the alternator to push that voltage higher to recharge the battery (which may explain why I have starting problems...)
In any way, i found this schematics which looks pretty much like the wiring of the actual machine:
j5-wiring.JPG

Anybody knows what voltage to check on what wire? Having 3 red wires going to the alternator does not make it easy to identify what are A F and G wire, but knowing what those mean could help.
Thank you for any and all help,
jf

zspryte

Site Supporter
Bad batteries often have low voltage that even a got alternator cannot increase. You might try a good battery and see how things look. Hate for you to fix something that isn't broken.

zspryte

Site Supporter
F - field circuit ; G - ground ; A - ampere
The A wire is normally the largest gauge wrie as it is the output that goes to the amp gauge and battery. The voltage between this wire and the battery ground should be 13.5 to 14.5 volts or even slightly higher.

jflarin