• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

I am a coach, I don't need to take sh!t from national organizations or be attacked

Melensdad

Jerk in a Hawaiian Shirt & SNOWCAT Moderator
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
For those who don't know, I've been a volunteer fencing coach for almost 15 years. Volunteer. I've refused pay. I am under contract as a college coach at Purdue University, 90 miles away, at NO PAY (they do give me a parking space). I am a coach at a high school 40 miles the other direction, again, NO PAY. I run a private fencing club, again NO PAY. I give private and semi private lessons, NO PAY. I average 5 days a week coaching, mostly high school and college age, but also adults. I pay my own travel expenses to events all around the country. I've coached at national championships, junior olympic, collegiate championships, regional and national events, and many local events. If someone gifts me a bottle of whiskey at Christmas I do accept that.

Early this year the national organization required me (and others) to take a coaching test, they claimed it was for liability and competency. I took the class, took the test, and the very second I submitted my essay test my coaching certificate was approved. Clearly they didn't grade it. Clearly they didn't read it. So they lied.

Yesterday a senior national referee jumped all over me ON FACEBOOK, IN PUBLIC, for stupid shit. She is very highly respected for her skills, and a regional and national officer.

Today she apologized to me, profusely. I told her to fuck off (I was very slightly, but only very slightly more polite).