• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

FORD 9N Tractor

FrancSevin

Proudly Deplorable
GOLD Site Supporter
I am hoping to pick up a 9N FORD tractor this weekend. THE guy had an 8N and a 2N on his driveway but when I called he mentioned a 9N in the garage.

The 2N was adequate but I would prefer the 9N as I have had several years' experience with one. Most 2N's do not have starters or Generators and run off a magneto. This due to wartime restrictions when the 2N was being built instead of the 9N.

I also have had the 8N both of which were stolen.

If he hasn't sold it by Saturday, I will get the 8N

$1,800.

This is a perfect unit for grading gravel drives with a back blade, of which I have two that fit the three point hitch.

That and a brush hog which I do not yet have.

mla2ofus

GOLD Site Supporter
Maybe you already know but with a brush hog running and you need to stop, either allow ample stopping distance or be ready to disengage the PTO as the inertia of the hog will keep pushing the tractor. I don't know if you can buy an overrun clutch for the driveshaft.

FrancSevin

Proudly Deplorable
GOLD Site Supporter
Maybe you already know but with a brush hog running and you need to stop, either allow ample stopping distance or be ready to disengage the PTO as the inertia of the hog will keep pushing the tractor. I don't know if you can buy an overrun clutch for the driveshaft.
Thanks.

I am familiar with what you are saying. This ain't my first 9N. The PTO doesn't have a clutch. I plan to use a brush hog with it's own motor as I did before. Hard to find but I did use one with my Grandpa's Allis Chambers.

Last edited:

Melensdad