• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Where to use snowcats?

markemery

Noob here, and I posted the same question in my Trackster post, but wanted to post again to appeal to the non-Tracksters.

Anyway, looking to purchase a Cushman Trackster, but am trying to figure out where I can use it. I assume snowmobile trails are ok? Anywhere else? Where do you take yours?

I'm near Mt. Hood Oregon.

Thanks

Melensdad

Jerk in a Hawaiian Shirt & SNOWCAT Moderator
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!

Places I've driven mine:

Farm fields surround my house/property.

Along the creek banks that run for miles.

In a heavy enough snow when the roads are impassible then I go down the center of the roads!

300 H and H

Bronze Member
GOLD Site Supporter
Check your local regulations for snow mobile trails...

It is not usually a good idea for snow cats and snowmobiles to run on the same trails, unless they are wide enough for you both to pass.. Also you are not going nearly the same speed as they are, and your a hazard if you are not seen. A slow moving vehical sign on the back of your machine is a good idea, as are a strobe light on top of the machine. Visbility for others is what you want. DOT reflective tape like on semi trailers is good too.

Private land is the best.. I have quite a bit here I can run on. My machine is registared as a snow mobile, but is actually too wide to be. I also am a state certified groomer operator...to help confuse the issue when running mine on snowmobile trails. This was not exactly "planned", it just sort of evolved.