• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Motor in Bombardier:Front or Back?

Nubee

I am in the process of rebuilding and restoring a 1978 Bombardier muskeg carrier that's in pretty rough shape. I had to pull the motor out to get to the gears and thought I would move the motor to the back to keep it from being front heavy. Now I am getting conflicting advice as to whether the motor is better in the front or back. I am new to this and would appreciate any opinions.
Thanks.

pixie

SUPER Site Supporter
It depends what you plan to do with the machine.
With no load the Tractor style (center engine) will be better balanced fore and aft.

If you want to have a dump body on the back or often carry lots of cargo, the front engine, Carrier style would be better.

I prefer the center engine Tractor because it's easier to get at the differential and well balanced in snow.

http://www.safetyoneinc.com/specsheets/bombi.muskcartrac.1.html

Nubee

I am thinking of going with the tractor style engine in the center. I am looking for photos or a diagram that shows how to couple the motor and transmission to the front differential. With a perkins diesel and a 5 speed New Process transmission it doesn't leave much room for a driveline.

pixie

SUPER Site Supporter
Where are you located ? Maybe someone has one near you.

Here is a picture of my owners manual. I believe it shows the Chrysler engine. I'd be willing to do some measuring for you but mine has a 318 and a 4 speed so I'm not sure it's the same.

Attachments

• PIXMuskegCthru.jpg
    PIXMuskegCthru.jpg
    69.1 KB · Views: 1,162

Nubee