Forums Forums - Off Topic Forum FUN





Go Back   Forums Forums - Off Topic Forum FUN > Agriculture & DIY Forums > DIY Forums > DIY Electrical Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2015, 12:52 PM
bczoom's Avatar
bczoom bczoom is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,136
Thanks: 524
Thanked 935 Times in 514 Posts
bczoom will become famous soon enoughbczoom will become famous soon enough
Style: T66
Default I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

Had a circuit breaker started tripping so I guessed on where the issue may be. Pretty sure my guess was correct. Not sure if it's just me but this receptacle doesn't look quite right so I replaced it. It's for the sewer pump and is in that damp area.

A more permanent fix (other than just replacing the receptacle) to be applied once all the parts are in.

Scroll for image.

















.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CIMG0364.JPG (271.2 KB, 60 views)
__________________
If you didn't hear it with your own ears or see it with your own eyes, don't invent it with your small mind and share it with your big mouth.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bczoom For This Useful Post:
PBinWA  (12-07-2015), rback33 (12-07-2015)
  #2  
Old 12-07-2015, 01:23 PM
OhioTC18's Avatar
OhioTC18 OhioTC18 is offline
Member

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,015
Thanks: 91
Thanked 273 Times in 194 Posts
OhioTC18 is on a distinguished road
Default

Yeah that could do it. Now you need to find the reason it happened
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2015, 01:34 PM
bczoom's Avatar
bczoom bczoom is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,136
Thanks: 524
Thanked 935 Times in 514 Posts
bczoom will become famous soon enoughbczoom will become famous soon enough
Style: T66
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

Spending 20+ years in a wet environment? (It's actually in the septic tank).

I'm going to replace the float switch which was what was plugged into it. Part arrives Monday. Replacing breaker with GFCI. Thinking about replacing receptacle with a "waterproof" but aren't those just pretty much rainproof? If it sat in a damp environment, wont the dampness seep into the box?
__________________
If you didn't hear it with your own ears or see it with your own eyes, don't invent it with your small mind and share it with your big mouth.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2015, 01:49 PM
road squawker's Avatar
road squawker road squawker is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 998
Thanks: 765
Thanked 887 Times in 452 Posts
road squawker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bczoom View Post
Spending 20+ years in a wet environment? (It's actually in the septic tank).

I'm going to replace the float switch which was what was plugged into it. Part arrives Monday. Replacing breaker with GFCI. Thinking about replacing receptacle with a "waterproof" but aren't those just pretty much rainproof? If it sat in a damp environment, wont the dampness seep into the box?
actually,.......... if this one operated properly for 20 years,............ I would replace it with the exact same thing
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2015, 02:14 PM
jim slagle's Avatar
jim slagle jim slagle is offline
Cold Member

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5,916
Thanks: 7,686
Thanked 2,600 Times in 1,236 Posts
jim slagle is on a distinguished road
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

Use a single outlet instead of a duplex and put it in a waetherproof enclosure.

Less exposure to the moisture

I wouldn't put the gfci in that enviornment put a gfci breaker in the panel or put the gfci outlet in a dry place and feed the septic tank outlet from that.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (60.3 KB, 50 views)
__________________
.

The United States Constitution 1787. All Rights Reserved

Sometimes I'm fast. Most of the time I'm half fast!

Never put off till tomorrow what you can avoid all together!

Friends come and go, but enemies accumulate

FF REQUIRES NO PHYSICAL FITNESS PROGRAM.
EVERYONE GETS ENOUGH EXERCISE JUMPING TO CONCLUSIONS, FLYING
OFF THE HANDLE, RUNNING DOWN THE MODERATORS, KNIFING FRIENDS IN THE
BACK, DODGING RESPONSIBILITY AND PUSHING THEIR LUCK.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2015, 02:26 PM
bczoom's Avatar
bczoom bczoom is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,136
Thanks: 524
Thanked 935 Times in 514 Posts
bczoom will become famous soon enoughbczoom will become famous soon enough
Style: T66
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim slagle View Post
Use a single outlet instead of a duplex and put it in a waetherproof enclosure.

Less exposure to the moisture

I wouldn't put the gfci in that enviornment put a gfci breaker in the panel or put the gfci outlet in a dry place and feed the septic tank outlet from that.
How well would a weatherproof enclosure work in there? Humidity is probably 90% at all times. I always thought of "weatherproof" as rainproof but won't moisture/humidity get in there anyway?

I'm not going to put the GFCI in there. The lid is too damn heavy (I need the tractor loader to lift it off) to reset and if it does need reset, not sure I want to put my hand in there. GFCI will be in the basement.
__________________
If you didn't hear it with your own ears or see it with your own eyes, don't invent it with your small mind and share it with your big mouth.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-07-2015, 05:18 PM
snowstorm's Avatar
snowstorm snowstorm is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 193
Thanks: 214
Thanked 82 Times in 39 Posts
snowstorm is on a distinguished road
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

Why use a plug/ receptical at all why not hard wire it and add gfci in panel as mentioned ?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to snowstorm For This Useful Post:
JEV (12-08-2015)
  #8  
Old 12-07-2015, 05:46 PM
rback33's Avatar
rback33 rback33 is offline
Hangin in Tornado Alley
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,576
Thanks: 57
Thanked 45 Times in 31 Posts
rback33 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

I don't see what's wrong....
__________________
"Keep your head and you heart headed in the right direction and you will not have to worry about your feet" Anonymous



Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-07-2015, 08:40 PM
TOMLESCOEQUIP's Avatar
TOMLESCOEQUIP TOMLESCOEQUIP is offline
Just Plinkin Away the $$
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pine Island Fl
Posts: 1,873
Thanks: 18
Thanked 161 Times in 83 Posts
TOMLESCOEQUIP is on a distinguished road
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rback33 View Post
I don't see what's wrong....
Saw this pic on another forum:


Yah, just hard wire it in for sure !
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg wiring.jpeg (116.7 KB, 40 views)
__________________

Nothing works unless you do !
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-2015, 09:49 PM
jpr62902's Avatar
jpr62902 jpr62902 is offline
Jeanclaude Spam Banhammer

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 6,301
Thanks: 117
Thanked 280 Times in 165 Posts
jpr62902 will become famous soon enoughjpr62902 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rback33 View Post
I don't see what's wrong....
Seriously. I love toasted marshmallows.
__________________
"I will not eat green eggs and ham. I will not eat them. Sam, I am."

-- Sam
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-07-2015, 10:07 PM
Kane's Avatar
Kane Kane is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Right Coast of America
Posts: 5,491
Thanks: 149
Thanked 1,103 Times in 599 Posts
Kane will become famous soon enoughKane will become famous soon enough
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

So, tell me again that an electrician installed an electrical duplex outlet in a septic tank. Then tell me someone is going to DIY again.
__________________
All things being equal, bigger bullets tend to work better.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Kane For This Useful Post:
JEV (12-08-2015), road squawker (12-08-2015)
  #12  
Old 12-08-2015, 08:10 AM
bczoom's Avatar
bczoom bczoom is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,136
Thanks: 524
Thanked 935 Times in 514 Posts
bczoom will become famous soon enoughbczoom will become famous soon enough
Style: T66
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane View Post
So, tell me again that an electrician installed an electrical duplex outlet in a septic tank. Then tell me someone is going to DIY again.
That setup is common around here.

This is the setup.


This is the float switch with the piggyback plug that the pump plugs into.
__________________
If you didn't hear it with your own ears or see it with your own eyes, don't invent it with your small mind and share it with your big mouth.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-08-2015, 10:23 AM
Kane's Avatar
Kane Kane is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Right Coast of America
Posts: 5,491
Thanks: 149
Thanked 1,103 Times in 599 Posts
Kane will become famous soon enoughKane will become famous soon enough
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bczoom View Post
That setup is common around here.

This is the setup.


This is the float switch with the piggyback plug that the pump plugs into.
If we study Diagram 3, we'll see that the pump is hardwired, with a wire coil long enough to remove the pump from the tank for servicing. There is certainly no "duplex outlet" shown, and we can only presume that a proper ground fault connection at or near the circuit breaker board, inside the domicile.

The float/pigtail device you show is really nice. But it is for other applications (see the float on/off/alarm points in Diagram 3). Whoever did the original pump installation took, shall we say, some liberties. Feel free to do it again and just let your heirs or the next homeowner deal with it some day down the road.
__________________
All things being equal, bigger bullets tend to work better.

Last edited by Kane; 12-08-2015 at 10:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-08-2015, 10:26 AM
road squawker's Avatar
road squawker road squawker is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 998
Thanks: 765
Thanked 887 Times in 452 Posts
road squawker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bczoom View Post
That setup is common around here.

This is the setup.


This is the float switch with the piggyback plug that the pump plugs into.

I guess the term "Intrinsically safe"has no meaning there.

the elect plug does not have to be inside the tank, it should be run from an external receptacle through the tank wall and then properly sealed. so should the pump power wire too.


BTW, all that brown crud/stain/rust is due to the corrosive (and EXPLOSIVE) METHANE gas in the tank
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-08-2015, 10:34 AM
bczoom's Avatar
bczoom bczoom is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,136
Thanks: 524
Thanked 935 Times in 514 Posts
bczoom will become famous soon enoughbczoom will become famous soon enough
Style: T66
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane View Post
If we study Diagram 3, we'll see that the pump is hardwired, with a wire coil long enough to remove the pump from the tank for servicing. There is certainly no "duplex outlet" shown, and we can only presume that a proper ground fault connection at or near the circuit breaker board, inside the domicile.
Diagram 3?

I'm all for doing it right if y'all can show me what right looks like, I'll change the current setup.
__________________
If you didn't hear it with your own ears or see it with your own eyes, don't invent it with your small mind and share it with your big mouth.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-08-2015, 10:45 AM
Kane's Avatar
Kane Kane is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Right Coast of America
Posts: 5,491
Thanks: 149
Thanked 1,103 Times in 599 Posts
Kane will become famous soon enoughKane will become famous soon enough
Default Re: I think I found the problem. (Electrical)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bczoom View Post
Diagram 3?

I'm all for doing it right if y'all can show me what right looks like, I'll change the current setup.
Yes, Diagram 3. The picture you included in post #12 above. Do it like that.
__________________
All things being equal, bigger bullets tend to work better.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM" tommu56 Political Debate Forum 5 03-05-2013 11:09 AM
DAMMIT! Electrical problem! Rusty Shackleford Cars, Trucks Forum 23 12-09-2011 12:19 PM
1999 Merc Sabel continuing electrical problem tsaw Cars, Trucks Forum 2 03-30-2011 08:48 PM
century 2535 electrical problem Erik Tractor Forum 1 08-31-2008 12:21 PM
Diagnosing an electrical problem! kgracey Snowcat Repairs, Parts & Problems Forum 14 12-21-2007 01:27 PM





All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2017 www.ForumsForums.com