• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

New Air Compressor

jwstewar

I've been wanting a new air compressor for awhile. I've been using a 33 gallon Crapsman since 2003. Still works, but getting louder and louder especially at the top end. Combined with the fact it isn't keeping up with the air flow how we are using it now, I decided it was time to upgrade. I do computer consulting on the side, one of the companies I work with does air compressor maintenance, but they also sell the "little" guys. So he presented me with a couple a QT-54 - 3600 RPM 15.x CFM and a QT-5 1800 RPM and 17.3 CFM. Almost double the price, but sound was important. :) So I'm now the proud owner of a Quincy QT-5 80 gallon compressor. Got in February, because of other things in life, it took a bit to get everything finished. I insulated the wall behind it and installed a disconnect box for it. I then plumbed it in on Saturday and got it bolted to the floor. I got a regulator for it as well as an auto drain valve. The drain valve is timed, it can scare the crap out of you if you aren't expecting it.:yum:

The best part, no out of pocket money. Trading labor for it and sold to me at their cost.

Attachments

• 20180331_154153_resized.jpg
    20180331_154153_resized.jpg
    163.8 KB · Views: 43
  • 20180331_154213_resized.jpg
    20180331_154213_resized.jpg
    151.5 KB · Views: 43
  • 20180331_154401_resized.jpg
    20180331_154401_resized.jpg
    186.5 KB · Views: 42
  • 20180331_154414_resized.jpg
    20180331_154414_resized.jpg
    108.7 KB · Views: 43

Doc

Bottoms Up
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter