• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Should Gays be Allowed to Serve Openly in the Military?

Should Gays be Allowed to Openly Serve in our Military?

• YES

Votes: 14 53.8%
  • NO

Votes: 12 46.2%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cityboy

Banned
I just watched an episode of 60 Minutes on this subject. I'm a veteran. I knew a gay Navy Corpsman when I was overseas. He caught hell from some of the "macho" badasses (so they thought), but the guy did his job and was a damned good field "Doc" as we Marines called our Navy medics. I still do not understand why a man would choose to have sex with other men, but....you know...WTF? Why not leave these people alone and let them serve their country?

I left the Marine Corps in 1986 and entered private industry. In my field, there are a few gay folks, probably about 1%, as is consistent with the rest of the U.S. population. But I noticed something about these people that was somewhat different from the general population....they tend to be extremely competent in their jobs and highly intelligent to a higher degree than the general population. Interesting. This is simply my own observation from my own experience. And here is another personal observation: Bigots and homophobes tend to be more ignorant and less competent in their jobs than the gay folks they hate. Go figure. Again, just my personal observation.

I also notice many older people, let's say 50+, tend to be less tolerant of gays and people different from themselves in general. Perhaps this is a generational thing?