• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Swimming pool skimmer "socks" saved my pool!

Melensdad

Jerk in a Hawaiian Shirt & SNOWCAT Moderator
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
Because of Melen's back surgery, being in the hospital for 8 days and me commuting up to Chicago daily to visit her (typically leaving at 8am, returning about home about 10:30pm) and then dealing with her recovery at home for the past few days . . . my pool has been NEGLECTED for about 2 weeks.

Fortunately the weekend before her surgery I put in a brand new pool filter cartridge, jacked up the salt/chlorine generator and did one thing I've never done before, I put skimmer "socks" on the skimmer baskets.

Skimmer socks are sort of like thick, tightly woven, nylons that fit over the skimmer baskets. They catch the SMALL debris that goes through a skimmer basket. (think of it as a condom for your skimmer basket) Cost is about $2 per sock.

WOW do they work :clap:

I bought mine locally, but this is what I'm talking about => http://www.poolproducts4less.com/ca...4411/s/filter-saver-skimmer-sock/category/72/

We had SEVERAL storms roll through, there are branches and all sorts of large bits of debris in my pool, but the water is CLEAR and the small debris was all contained by the skimmer socks :smile:

I'm sold.

If you have a pool, save yourself some grief and get some skimmer socks :hammer:

Melensdad

Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
What does this do that the filter doesn't do?:unsure: I thought that is what a filter did...