• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Cookies!

Av8r3400

Gone Flyin'
Little know fact about me: I'm a cookie baker.

My favorites are the old fashion "toll House" chocolate chip cookies. Simple, easy and quick. Not to mention easily modified and very tasty! :biggrin:

My problem lately is I can't get them to rise while baking. They always seem to turn out flat. (Still really good, just flat.)

Where am I going wrong?

pirate_girl

legendary ⚓
GOLD Site Supporter
Little know fact about me: I'm a cookie baker.

My favorites are the old fashion "toll House" chocolate chip cookies. Simple, easy and quick. Not to mention easily modified and very tasty! :biggrin:

My problem lately is I can't get them to rise while baking. They always seem to turn out flat. (Still really good, just flat.)

Where am I going wrong?
Are you using butter or margarine when you make them?

Av8r3400

Gone Flyin'
If you're following the authentic toll house recipe, then they should come out just fine with butter.
Marg makes them turn into flat, greasy pancake cookies.
Trust me, I know..:yum:

Yeah, it is genuine, locally made, salted butter, but they are still greasy little pancake cookies...

I've tried the butter-Crisco stix and get the same results, too...

Av8r3400

Gone Flyin'
Soda, salt, butter, vanilla, sugar, sugar, 2-eggs, flour...

I've actually thought about cheating and adding some baking powder.

snow dog

cheating with baking powder? if your going to cheat, get the poor girl next door to bake you some cookies, next time you help her

JEV

Mr. Congeniality
GOLD Site Supporter