• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Hydrostatic Newbie-System Flush

Fritzhaus

I just picked up a Lite-Foot (Pistenbully Scout) snowcat. It has the following components.

• Sauer series 90 pump
  • Volvo F11 final drive
  • Auburn Gear hubs
The previous owner used it for cabin access and put a whopping 30 hours on it over 8-9 year. The fluid in it has 30 hours on it, but it's old. Current fluid is Chevron AW-32. Because it's so old, I'd like to flush and replace with ATF type F.

I'm not a mechanical retard (lots of experience rebuilding motos), but I've never worked on hydrostatic systems, so I'm looking for insight.

Here's what I think one would do to flush the system.

1. Drain reservoir
  2. Drain pump
  3. Drain hoses at final drives
Refill process.

1. Keep everything clean!
  2. Replace both filters
  3. Fill pump at upper access
  4. Fill reservoir
  5. Turn motor over with coil removed (30 sec)
  6. Repeat above step and check reservoir level
  7. Keep pressure gauge attached to M3 port, repeat above steps until spec'd pressure is obtained.
  8. Check reservoir level, fill as needed.
  9. Start engine, slowly cycle drives forward/backward for several minutes to remove air.
  10. Recheck reservoir level.
Thanks for any and all advice.

300 H and H

Bronze Member
GOLD Site Supporter