• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Rubber track Tucker

Tye one on

Could someone tell me why I see some Tucker's with one bogey wheel that looks different from the others? It looks like UHMW form the pics I've seen but I'm not totally sure. It usually seems to be the most rear wheel on the track system. I have my guesses but I am new to rubber tracks and mine does not have any of these magical bogey wheels. Thanks.

redsqwrl

Bronze Member
GOLD Site Supporter
My $.02
The magic wheel in the midwest is called an ice breaker.

Its purpose is reported to be to crush the impacted snow and ice the forms on a working machine. it is installed at the rear position to gain the advantage of the highest tension.

At our county alliance meetings there are some clubs running the Ice breaker at the front. (the reason is the hard make up of the tire forces the snow/ice out and thru the holes of the grouser. ( less tension allows the crud a place to go.)

a tucker expert should be along soon.....

FWIW, I have a Ice breaker for sale,
ironically It is the standard HD wheel on Wide track machines.

Also, some clubs don't run an ice breaker and feel they are not needed.

Mill666er

SUPER Site Supporter
When I went through my '81 542 it had two original UHMW ice breakers and 2 of the newer ones that used the stock aluminum wheel but had a much harder urethane tire. The urethane tire is a dark maroon color which may be hard to detect from a distance.

cf3ad6b5ee184e61bd3d199cd5431d3e.jpg

Wheel at the rear position (far left) is the new style ice breaker.

3f6384472c9f01fa0819aba5c66e5d25.jpg

Blackfoot Tucker

GOLD Site Supporter