• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Controversial Pepsi Can

Doc

Bottoms Up
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
New can by Pepsi Arabia - Is It Celebrating September 11th?

What do you think?

Here is one contractor's comment:
I'm a contractor in Baghdad and my coworkers and I noticed the new design on the side of the Pepsi Diet cans. It seems to show 2 towers, which look a lot like the twin towers, in a large city with 2 planes flying around them. Seems like a pretty offensive choice if you are American but maybe a good marketing choice in this part of the world.

http://ireport.cnn.com/docs/DOC-719248?hpt=us_bn2

Attachments

• pepsiCanTwinTowers.jpg
    pepsiCanTwinTowers.jpg
    64.6 KB · Views: 173

Doc

Bottoms Up
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
Some more text from the original article:

CNN PRODUCER NOTE iReporter lynzbee, who works at the Baghdad Diplomatic Support Center in Iraq, shared a photo on Sunday of a Diet Pepsi can that's causing controversy online due to its imagery, which some say resembles the Twin Towers and a plane flying overhead. 'I personally saw the can and noticed the towers/planes and thought immediately of 9/11 without even knowing about the can issue,' she wrote in an email. 'I think it is at best in very bad taste and at worst direct anti-American marketing to people in this area. I think that it should be causing controversy; Pepsi shouldn't be marketing what could be interpreted as pro-terrorist themes to sell soft drinks.'