• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Air compressor

daedong

Did not know what forum to post this so I thought here would get good exposure.

I am just about ready to spray paint my boat. Spray painting is something I have never done before; consequently I am on a step learning curve. I understand that compressors for spraying painting should have moisture filters.

So today I went hunting through all my trinket boxes and I found this. Will it do the trick, how does it work, is it just positioned on the air outlet what else can you tell me about it?
filters.jpg

Big Dog

Large Member
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
I'm no expert but the clear one looks like it has some regulation and is typically a moisture seperator but I see no tap for removing (blowing down) the water. It also could be a oiler, but not likely since I believe if it was it would be somewhat discolored. It would help to have a picture looking at the top of the cannisters. The solid one could be for silica resin but those are typically downstream from the seperator. Looks like it was on an air system from the fitting. More pics from different angles Vin!

Wannafish

Floppy Member
SUPER Site Supporter
Big Dog said:
I'm no expert but the clear one looks like it has some regulation and is typically a moisture seperator but I see no tap for removing (blowing down) the water.

Black knob on the bottom - should be able to either push it slightly (spring loaded) to drain the water, or more likely turn it to open it and drain it, then close it back up.