• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

You can't reach that from here...

The Tourist

Banned
I was a very bad mechanic for Decker Harley-Davidson in Madison, Wisconsin from 1972 until 1974.

As discussed in another thread, there are problems with getting something apart for service. Talk to anyone who has spent time around engines and they have at least one horror story about an entire can of WD-40, a breaker bar, two hours of wasted time and sliced knuckles.

In fact, even in most modern vehicles, removing the water pump or a valve train gilmer belt requires some serious disassembling.

Why?

The Dodge Intrepid was designed entirely by a CAD computer program. No clay models were needed. Even the stress points were tested for strength using algorithms.

Why can't some assemblies and sub-assemblies be modular?

One night the blower motor on my home heater crapped. The heating and A/C guy came over--removed four bolts--and slid the motor out like opening a drawer.

Why can't you remove the serpentine belt on a car, loosen the fasteners, and slide out the entire radiator and fan to replace a water pump?

I once looked into getting a Paxton blower for either my Mustang or my 4.6 liter F-150 truck. The PR guy told me it only took "two guys a weekend" to install the unit.

That's four man days. To remove a belt. Retro-fit a new air cleaner duct. Screw in an air-pump.

I can reach every nut, bolt and lockwasher on my bike, and the major design evolves from 1936.

Am I missing something?

Spiffy1

Huh?
SUPER Site Supporter