• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

New to Forum, JW-67 track question

Argofixer

Hello,
I have an old JW-67 Bombardier I bought and am restoring. I am replacing the tracks next and wonder if anyone knows the orignal Cross Link hole spacing for these. I will make a template to do it but rather than use the original ones that are in poor shape to make the template I thought I may just throw the question out in here.

Thanks and have a good day,
Randy

pixie

SUPER Site Supporter
Welcome to the forum !

How wide is the machine ? Is it an SW48 which has 14+" tracks or a J5 which has 16" tracks.

Why do you not want to use the tracks you have for a pattern ? What are you going to make the new cleats from ?

Argofixer

Thanks for the reply! It is 48" wide so I guess an old rounded style SW48 with the aprox 14" wide tracks. I have had lots of projects over the years but this is the first tracked one. the old tracks are pretty ratty and have seen lots of abuse. I can use them for a template but after buying new Belting I didnt want to take a chance of punching holes in the incorrect location and finding the Drive Sprocket was a bit out of time. These are pretty rare out in Saskatchewan so parts are hard to come by. I will buy some new cleats if I can find a half dozen. If not, I will repair the old damaged cleats (2.5" angle currently on them) and for the missing guides I will likely just Machine a jig for the press and make a bunch of new ones. I will post a machine picture when I get a chance to figure out how.

pixie

SUPER Site Supporter
Contact Minnesota Outdoors http://mn-outdoors.com/parts.html