Forums Forums - Off Topic Forum FUN

Go Back   Forums Forums - Off Topic Forum FUN > Agriculture & DIY Forums > Lawn, Garden, Plants & Trees Forum

Old 02-19-2013, 09:57 AM
Supported Ben Carson

squerly will become famous soon enoughsquerly will become famous soon enough
Default First Garden!

This is my first year living full time on the mountain here in NC, and along with everything else I'm turning farmer! Went to Tractor Supply yesterday and got seeds for my latest adventure. We have:
  • Onions (Yellow)
  • Sweet Peppers
  • Tomato (Roma)
  • Pea's
  • Radish's
  • Cucumber's
  • Hot Peppers
  • Sweet Corn
  • Carrot's
  • Strawberries (Everbearing)
  • Raspberries

I know nothing abut gardening so I hope these vegies will co-exist in the same area. Any suggestions or advice will be appreciated!
Old 02-19-2013, 10:13 AM
Mr Lovable

Thanked 14,084 Times in 5,069 Posts
TiredRetired has a spectacular aura aboutTiredRetired has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: First Garden!

Don't forget the water.
Old 02-19-2013, 10:33 AM
Super Moderator

Thanked 2,007 Times in 930 Posts
bczoom will become famous soon enoughbczoom will become famous soon enough
Style: T66

A few thoughts.

First, watch the orientation of the garden as it relates to sunshine. It's best to put the shortest things towards the south so they get sun. E.g. don't put the corn or peas on the south side then put the carrots, radishes & onions just to the north of them. The taller plants can block the sunshine.

Watch your viney plants (e.g. cucumbers or pumpkins). They'll need space to spread out. I put these on the perimeter of the garden and train them to grow outwards so they don't grow into the other plants.