• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

WTB Snow cat

Copperhead

Newbie here and don't know much about snow cats since I'm from the south. We have a second home in Ouray, CO and it sits above the city with about a 100' driveway that is real steep. Like up the side of a mountain steep. So in the winter when we go there we have to park down on the city road and trek up this steep driveway covered in snow to get to the house. I'm way too old for that anymore. I think what I'd like to have is something that can hold 3-4 people and be able to climb the grade and possibly be able to plow the driveway. Not a lot of turn around room at the top of the driveway. Open to suggestions and if someone here has something that may work.

Red130

100 feet isn't that much in terms of length. Have you thought about a four seat side-by-side UTV (Polaris Ranger or Kubota RTV, for example) with tire chains on all tires and a plow?

undy

Welcome Copperhead. Nice area of Colorado. Here's some thoughts, in no particular order...

A hundred yards isn't far, even steep. But uphill in snow, I bet it's tough going.

Depending on how wide and/or sloped the driveway is, perhaps a cat might be the ticket. But they do have their limitations.

How rich are ya?

If the turnaround at the top is really tight, a brake-steer cat might not do so well, whereas a hydrostatic cat might be able to spin in place. But a hydrostatic cat can get expensive.