• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Steering Problems

snowbird

I'm not experienced in operating my Bombardier SkiDozer, but I'm wondering if I need to either adjust the tension on the brake bands or possibly put on new brake material. I need to pull really hard on my steering levers and usually there's quite a pause before my vehicle starts to turn. If I do need new brake liners, is that a pretty icky job changing them?

MNoutdoors RIP

Gone But Not Forgotten
GOLD Site Supporter
I'm not experienced in operating my Bombardier SkiDozer, but I'm wondering if I need to either adjust the tension on the brake bands or possibly put on new brake material. I need to pull really hard on my steering levers and usually there's quite a pause before my vehicle starts to turn. If I do need new brake liners, is that a pretty icky job changing them?

What fluid are you running? is the machine stored in your shop or outside?
did you look at the bands? they may need to be replaced we have them 300 a set riveted onto the bands you do not need to pull the diff.

snowbird

Sometimes it's in my heated shop and sometimes it's sitting outside. I put the recommended fluid into the differential (I think it was SAE 90, but I can't remember for sure) after draining the old stuff and cleaning out the compartment.