• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

BACON, rules and regulations thereof...

Melensdad

Jerk in a Hawaiian Shirt & SNOWCAT Moderator
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
While I am an expert at consuming and enjoying bacon and bacon-like products, I am not an expert on the rules and regulations pertinent to Bacon standards and practices.

For instance, does Canadian Bacon (i.e. "back bacon") qualify as bacon?

What of the fact that in Ireland, what they call bacon is what we call ham? Is it bacon because they say so, or not? And while we were in the UK they served us something called bacon, it was more like ham, but a not a full slice.

Should turkey bacon exist in our society? It's not really bacon, and it has just as much fat and calories as real bacon, so what't the point? In my opinion, it serves no purpose. And then there is that pre-cooked packaged bacon. . . WTF is that stuff :shock:

EastTexFrank

GOLD Site Supporter
And then there is that pre-cooked packaged bacon. . . WTF is that stuff :shock:

It's a non-cooking bachelor's savior, that's what it is. Don't get me wrong, I love bacon, even the American variety, but it is messy to cook and clean up afterwards and I am a messy cook. It's a habit I developed years ago mainly so my wife would ban me from the kitchen. It's worked very well for 30 years. So when it comes to bacon/breakfast in our house, I make the coffee. But when the urge strikes you at lunch time, throwing a few rashers into the microwave and constructing a huge BLT sandwich, is a labor of love.