• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

New Guy - New Adventure - Thiokol Spryte Project & Plans (Utah)

cruiseroutfit

Site Supporter
I've been dreaming of a cat for many years and I was finally brave (dumb?) enough to bid on one at auction a few months back. Low and behold I won and soon we were hauling it home.

What I do know:
Thiokol Sprtye with a customized cab
Ford I6 mated to an auto (still need to sort which one)
C-4 differential
Newer tracks with aluminum trousers

Most of you will know far more than that just looking at it. I've not found any data tags but presume it's a mid-late 60's?

I've since picked up a tilt deck original Thiokol trailer. It needs some bearing/wiring love so I haven't loaded the Spryte yet but based on dimensions and the previous owner I'm confident it should fit.

Now for pics!

20190924_124156.jpg

20190921_093632.jpg

20190921_093533.jpg

GMoose

GOLD Site Supporter
Nice trailer, nice cat. Make sure your tow vehicle is heavy enough, sure don't want the tail wagging the dog.

cruiseroutfit

Site Supporter
Nice trailer, nice cat. Make sure your tow vehicle is heavy enough, sure don't want the tail wagging the dog.

The Land Cruiser pictured is rated to tow 8500lbs but I don't know that I would ever be comfortable in that realm? I suspect the trailer is in the 1500-2000lb range and the cat in the 4500lb range? Think I'm way off? As soon. As I get the bearings on the trailer fixed up I'll take it to the scales and find out.

sno-drifter

Bronze Member
GOLD Site Supporter