• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Light pole installation

Doc

Bottoms Up
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
Has anyone put in a light pole onto a concrete base? I'm getting ready to install one that way. It will sit over 4 bolts which will be placed in the concrete base as it's drying.
I'm thinking of using 1" or 1 1/2" pipe in an L shape for running the wire through. I would have it come up in the middle of the 4 bolts which will anchor the light base down. The light pole has access to fit your hands through to wire up the dusk to dawn lamp.
This is my first time doing a project like this and I'm wondering if you all did it like I'm thinking (I doubt it) or is there a better way?

bczoom

Super Moderator
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
You're right on track.

I'm assuming the "L" pipe is buried in the concrete and is the conduit for fishing the wire. I wouldn't use a sharp "L" but get more of a sweeping 90 degree turn so it's easier to fish the wire and it won't bind anything up.

Also, leave yourself a decent amount of extra wire behind the access panel. This will allow you to make your connections outside the light pole and then just "stuff" the wire inside once connections are completed.

Your pipe is probably pretty watertight but consider drip loops anywhere the wire connections may encounter water (and obviously tape all connections).

I also assume you're using UF-B wire for this application.

Doc

Bottoms Up
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
Good thought on the sweeping L BC. I had not thought of that, I was going to have a small rope through the pipe to pull the wire through.
BC said: