• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Parents in kids sports make coaches want to quit!

Melensdad

Jerk in a Hawaiian Shirt & SNOWCAT Moderator
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
Normally I stay an arm length away from parents. As an un-paid volunteer coach I defer much of the grief from the parents onto the head-coach/teacher (actual school employee) or the one parent who manages our events.

But today I'm angry. I can see why people don't volunteer their time.

One of the kids on our team is a good kid. He was named co-Captain of the team last night at our awards banquet.

His mom is upset because he was not awarded a "varsity" letter for fencing.

HISTORICALLY the ONLY kids who got "varsity" letters were seniors. Her child is a sophomore, so he will only be a junior next year.

HISTORICALLY we have named sophomores to the position of Co-Captain and none has ever gotten a Varsity letter for being named to the leadership position of co-Captain.

THIS YEAR we decided to introduce a SKILL/PERFORMANCE based system that allows us to reward SUPERIOR fencers with a varsity letter prior to their senior year. It is an OBJECTIVE set of criteria, it is based on the RESULTS a fencer earns in tournaments. Using this criteria it is difficult for a fencer to earn a varsity letter, but we awarded 3 of them to non-senior fencers last night at our awards banquet. All three are superior fencers and they have results to prove their fencing quality.