• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

It's a SUPRISE! Pt 1

Lyndon

Bronze Member
GOLD Site Supporter
I like big machinery. I'm an electrical Control Systems Troubleshooter by trade and have gotten to work on a wide variety of machinery. This is the story of collecting SNOW CATS across 5 time zones. I also like VW's, and that's where this story starts. But first we'll take a look at a really big machine. This is the GYM OF EGYPT. It was the largest electric shovel ever built. That's my 1956 VW with my buddy Brad standing next to it. All of the giant shovels and monster draglines have been dismantled, except the Gym's sister shovel, THE SILVER SPADE, which is now a museum piece. Most of them lived in an area called Egypt Valley, the coal minimg district around Fleshing Ohio. Brad had a farm there. The corner of Ohio that touches Pennsylvenia near Pitsburg, and neighboring Wheeling West Virginia is where these huge machines served out their lives.
GEM1.jpg

GEM1 001.jpg

GEM1 002.jpg

Lyndon

Bronze Member
GOLD Site Supporter