• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Hagglund engine swap

rory_mcw

Evening,

I am looking to buy a bv206, it's petrol, has anyone on here converted one of these to diesel or am I better off buying a diesel machine in the first place, petrol machine £12,000 diesel 5cyl merc is £18,000.

I can carry out the job myself, that is no problem, is there a tried and tested replacement engine?

Thanks

Snowtrac Nome

member formerly known as dds
GOLD Site Supporter
Dude you'r in luck i'm not just a snot trac expert I have some 15 years of experience with hagglunds . the 6 cyl Mercedes is the only motor to use if you are doing a swap using oe type components how ever you will need every thing to include the jack shaft going to the hydraulic pump and alternator than have fun with the complex electrical system. also fuel tanks will have to be changed to a model with a fuel return and you will also have to get a complex fuel switch block. a better conversion would be a 4-b cummins and matching trans from a bread truck this will necessitate making engine mounts and the same fuel issues. the next conversion I have seen is a natural aspirated 6.2 gm with a turbo 400 it actualy fit quite well and ran like a raped ape. once again it was a government experiment so cost was no obstruction. if you can buy a diesel ,you would likely be dollars ahead to get a 6 cyl diesel model with an engine all ready in it in the military we were lucky to get 600 hours out of an engine rebuild the most common problem was blown head gaskets. take a look at my thread about pulling the motor on a bv206 I documented a gas engine change I did a while back. also the 6 ford