• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

thiokol 1404 imp springs

Alan K

Does anybody know what the arch measurement is or how to tell if they are weak I am new at this.:smile: have tracks off and checking things out, thanks

turbinator62

Site Supporter
SUPER Site Supporter
My cat is at our cabin so I can't measure it but check out the "Snowcat Restoration and Modifications forum http://www.forumsforums.com/3_9/forumdisplay.php?f=88 and look for pictures of 1404s or 1402s to see how much arch there is. I'm sure most of them are worn out. I had one break last year and spent 160 bucks to have two custom made to a sample. Then I found these http://www.sdtrucksprings.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=331 They are the right length, but are 1/4 inch thick as opposed to 3/16" and have quite a bit more arch. I bought two to check out. I think if you disassembled them and used the original back up leaves and just the main spring they would be ok. You would have to machine new bushings of the proper ID as the supplied ones are too big. I would make the bushings out of UHMW plastic. I may replace all of mine next year. You could do the whole cat for about $170 plus freight.

A higher arch will also tighten up your tracks, so make sure you have some adjustment. It will also give you more ground clearance, but may cause the cat to pitch more on rough ground.

Post pictures when you can. We all like to see other peoples projects.

Last edited:

hansoni

This is a drawing of the IMP springs I just had 8 made.

Attachments

• spring.jpg
    spring.jpg
    45.8 KB · Views: 403

rodre