• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

C4 Rebuild

bdpeek

Maybe this will help someone rebuild a C4. This is my first time working on this particular rear end, using a book for a closely related but not identical piece of equipment. If you find errors feel free to point them out or correct them.

C4Small.jpg

I knew I would have to go thru this rear end as soon as the drain plug was removed and nothing happened. Ramming a wire through the layers of collected silt allowed the oil could drain, not a good sign.

After pulling everything apart and cleaning found the following:

Main shaft bearings had grit and would catch slightly
Pinion shaft bearings were also bad
Fourth gear bushing was scored badly (reverse looked great)
Cross pinion bushings sloppy and egg shaped
Carrier bearings bad
Drain plugs were smashed and threads distorted
Axle bearings bad (one was broken)
Slave cylinder linkage broken and adjustment bolt stripped

Disassembly is straight forward with the exceptions of:

The brake bands can be a little stubborn but with a little patience they will come out

BrakebandsSmall.jpg

The carrier bearings require a special tool to remove, if they are bad just cut them off with an angle grinder/cutoff wheel and a cold chisel.

The cross pinion gears are a tight press fit with woodruff keys in the shafts. I pressed the shafts thru the old pinion bushings after removing the retaining clips. This ruins the bushings by dragging the key through them in my case they were already bad. I’m sure there is a better way to do this.

The instructions I was using said a couple of alternating pry bars should pull these gears, not a chance.