• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Welding footwear

Short bus

I did it again welding with crocks on my feet this time I had on $20 filson socks I could feel the burning just mooved my feet around a little like I do when wearing flip flops or other sockless shoes. I just took my scocks out of the dryer and thought where did all thease holes come from? Ding. Welding in crocks the other day, Dogh!
It is a good thing I bought some really nice fire extingishers cause I suck at preping an area for hot work and donning protective gear.

EastTexFrank

GOLD Site Supporter
I'm only an occasional welder (and not very good at it), but I did the same thing many years ago and learned a lesson. I was welding in tennis shoes and a spark got caught in the laces, burned through the tongue of the shoe and was working on the sock when I felt it. It hurt like hell and burned me before I got it off. These days it's pull on boots covered by jeans even in the middle of summer. That's one lesson I don't need to learn twice.

I've seen guys make a small leather cover that attaches to the laces and lays down over the instep of the foot to prevent burns like that.

muleman

Gone But Not Forgotten
GOLD Site Supporter
I learned the hard way by wearing sneakers while using a cutting torch. Had a piece of hot slag land in the shoe while I was reaching with the torch. Till I got the shoe off I had a burn that took weeks to finally heal. That was a painful summer reminder that I never forget. I also always have a fire extinguisher right near where I work with a torch. I ain't allowed to weld since I got my pacemaker.

mla2ofus

GOLD Site Supporter