• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Bombardier SW 48 starter

snowed-in

I have a 1986 Bombardier SW 48 and the starter went. It has a 300 cu.in Ford straight 6. I assumed that I could just go to a normal parts store and pick one up since it's a common ford engine. Well 3 new starters later I realize this is not the case. There must be a difference in the flywheel or something. I wish I had kept the original starter that I took out so I could compare the bendix. I tried to shim the starter however the bendix is still kicking out and hitting the flywheel. If anyone can give me any helpful advice it would be very much appreciated.

fogtender

Now a Published Author
Site Supporter
I have a 1986 Bombardier SW 48 and the starter went. It has a 300 cu.in Ford straight 6. I assumed that I could just go to a normal parts store and pick one up since it's a common ford engine. Well 3 new starters later I realize this is not the case. There must be a difference in the flywheel or something. I wish I had kept the original starter that I took out so I could compare the Bendix. I tried to shim the starter however the bendix is still kicking out and hitting the flywheel. If anyone can give me any helpful advice it would be very much appreciated.