• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Just got a 1404 Thiokol Imp

Treewizzard

Hello all, I am new to this whole site but hoping to find some info to help me with this Imp poject. Need to find out what kind of oil is best for the rearend and where I might look to get a manual for some other specs. Thank for any help.

turbinator62

Site Supporter
SUPER Site Supporter
Hello all, I am new to this whole site but hoping to find some info to help me with this Imp poject. Need to find out what kind of oil is best for the rearend and where I might look to get a manual for some other specs. Thank for any help.

The manual just says 50 wt. I use Aeroshell 100 (50wt) as do a lot of other guys. I seem to remember it takes about 7 quarts.

It had Shell Spirax 50 wt gear oil in it when I got it but it seems to steer better with the 50 wt aircraft engine oil.

Last edited:

Treewizzard

I will look into the other oil. I am going to pull the plate off of the back drive axel so I can check it out. Is there anything specific that Ishould be looking for regarding the steering bands?

turbinator62

Site Supporter
SUPER Site Supporter
You can get 50 wt at any airport with an aviation business. It is a standard aircraft engine oil. Any brand will work.

Take a look at the brake linings when you get them out. It the rivets are getting close to the surface, it is time to reline them. The rivet head is usually about half way into the lining when it is new.

If they are worn, Snowcat Pat at Sprite Improvement can reline them for you.