• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Astro van cat conversion

Snowy Rivers

Hi all.

My name is Snowy and I'm a retired machinist, welder, fabricator, field service engineer turned truck driver.

I played with Snowmobiles years ago and on occasion drove the clubs Thiokol groomers.

I always wanted to own a Thiokol Spryte, but never seemed to have time to gitterdone.

Well, after retiring from trucking (Local heavy haul sand and gravel ) I have bounced around and have been bored to tears.

Recently while surfing the net I ran into some info on Snow cats and some of the mods that folks have done.

I decided that at 64 yo it was now or never if I was going to have a cat now was the time.

My days running the Groomer left a permanent impression of how few creature comforts were in the Thiokol Spryte.

With the idea of comfort in mind I set out to do some snooping to see what had been done by others and what tickled my fancy.

Also there was the issue of COST $$$$$$$$$:unsure:

The project must be affordable on my retirement $$$$

I found all sorts of Cats out there that had been modified, tweaked, tricked and on and on.

I wanted LOW COST, easy to find parts and something comfortable to drive when it was finished.

Decided to go with the Spryte 1200 series, or at least in that direction.

The finished rig needs to be no more than 102" wide MAX so I can take it down the road without being over legal width.

Now for creature comforts ???????

We recently sold a GMC Safari van and purchased a Smart Car for every day stuff (real cheap to drive)

I loved the van as it had great forward visibility and was easy to get in and out of.