Forums Forums - Off Topic Forum FUN




Go Back   Forums Forums - Off Topic Forum FUN > Agriculture & DIY Forums > Agriculture & Rural Living Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2016, 10:08 AM
Melensdad's Avatar
Melensdad Melensdad is offline
Jerk in a Hawaiian Shirt

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 35,992
Thanks: 2,331
Thanked 9,258 Times in 3,720 Posts
Melensdad has a spectacular aura aboutMelensdad has a spectacular aura about
Unhappy Well pressure switch is failing

Taking a shower and losing water pressure with a whole head of shampoo is not a good thing. Its even worse when it happens to the lovely Mrs_Bob because she doesn't seem to see the humor in the situation

The water pressure is fine for about 10 or 15 minutes of steady use but then dropped about 20% before returning to normal. After about a week of that we noticed the pressure would drop further. Another week and the water would completely stop for about 30-seconds before the pump kicked in and restored pressure.

So now I'm waiting ... waiting ... waiting ... The repair man will be here sometime today, hopefully this morning, with a new pressure switch. The company is local, they have the switch in stock, said it was a quick & cheap repair.

Our well is 21+ years old. Pump works fine. I checked the pressure tank, its only 2 years old and properly charged.

Killed the power to the pump, drained the system, checked the air pressure to make sure the tank was not over/under pressure. Ideal is 30# mine was at 27-28, so almost right on the money.

System worked well for about 48 hours with only minimal pressure loss while showering. Now it drops in pressure to a trickle. Time to replace the pressure switch. I'm guessing that I could probably change it out but I really don't like working with plumbing. Electricity doesn't really bother me but water leaks are a problem I can't resolve and usually rely on one of my plumber friends to come help me out. This time the plumber said he had no clue about pressure switches, so I'm going to rely on the well company and pay the bill.
__________________

"We are fast approaching the stage of the ultimate inversion:
the stage where the government is free to do anything it pleases,
while the citizens may act only by permission; which is the stage
of the darkest periods of human history, the stage of rule by brute force."
- Ayn Rand
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2016, 10:33 AM
mbsieg's Avatar
mbsieg mbsieg is offline
awful member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Worland WY
Posts: 3,155
Thanks: 135
Thanked 122 Times in 90 Posts
mbsieg is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Well pressure switch is failing

hope its not the well, sounds like my buddies problem. he ended up getting his well fracked.
__________________
what a day........
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2016, 10:50 AM
EastTexFrank's Avatar
EastTexFrank EastTexFrank is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: East Texas
Posts: 9,647
Thanks: 1,276
Thanked 4,213 Times in 1,773 Posts
EastTexFrank will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Well pressure switch is failing

You're lucky that it is just the pressure switch. They're pretty easy to change out.

Last year my 18-year old pump gave out. The well is just used for irrigation and topping up the lake/pond during the summer. I got a water well company in to pull the pump and it was stuck inside the casing. They couldn't work or pull it free and the tubing eventually came apart. Result .... junk ... and I had to have a new water well drilled. That was an expense that I wasn't expecting but I've hopefully got a water well that will see me outta here.

Melsdad, do you have to treat the water before using it in the house?

Around here the water from a deep well usually contains iron which stains everything red. "Clean" water usually comes from a well that is relatively shallow but with very limited output but it's usually good enough for domestic use.
__________________
ETF


I won't be wronged. I won't be insulted. I won't be laid a-hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them. John Wayne as JB Books in "The Shootist".
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to EastTexFrank For This Useful Post:
Helmsman38 (02-22-2016)
  #4  
Old 02-22-2016, 10:51 AM
bczoom bczoom is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,634
Thanks: 1,757
Thanked 2,053 Times in 943 Posts
bczoom will become famous soon enoughbczoom will become famous soon enough
Style: T66
Default Re: Well pressure switch is failing

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbsieg View Post
hope its not the well, sounds like my buddies problem. he ended up getting his well fracked.
You can do that yourself. An e-mail from a friend:

My water well is slowing down in volume. It was drilled 25 years ago, back then it produced so much water that we could not get numbers for the bank mortgage, because we could not bail it dry. I called my well driller and he said to dump 6 gallons of white vinegar and 1 gallon of 8% Clorox down the well. Then recirculate with an outside water bib and hose. Then fill to the top of the casing with stored water(I'll use the water tank you gave me years ago . Let it sit for a day then start pumping it out. It is supposed to dissolve the minerals, iron and other nasty stuff that is plugging up my well. I have heard of clorox for bacteria, but not the vinegar. I did find this article that says the same thing, so once the weather breaks in the spring, I'm going to give it a shot.


http://www.moravecwaterwells.com/ind...ntainance/tips
__________________
If you didn't hear it with your own ears or see it with your own eyes, don't invent it with your small mind and share it with your big mouth.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bczoom For This Useful Post:
PBinWA  (02-22-2016)
  #5  
Old 02-22-2016, 01:53 PM
Melensdad's Avatar
Melensdad Melensdad is offline
Jerk in a Hawaiian Shirt

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 35,992
Thanks: 2,331
Thanked 9,258 Times in 3,720 Posts
Melensdad has a spectacular aura aboutMelensdad has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Well pressure switch is failing

Repair guy showed up.

Yes, I could have done it myself after watching him. Live and learn. Still was a pretty cheap repair anyway.

He said it was totally clogged up with iron. We have to treat our water for iron and hardness.
__________________

"We are fast approaching the stage of the ultimate inversion:
the stage where the government is free to do anything it pleases,
while the citizens may act only by permission; which is the stage
of the darkest periods of human history, the stage of rule by brute force."
- Ayn Rand
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2016, 02:46 PM
road squawker's Avatar
road squawker road squawker is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,679
Thanks: 1,529
Thanked 2,827 Times in 1,102 Posts
road squawker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Well pressure switch is failing

Quote:
Originally Posted by EastTexFrank View Post
...Melsdad, do you have to treat the water before using it in the house?

Around here the water from a deep well usually contains iron which stains everything red. "Clean" water usually comes from a well that is relatively shallow but with very limited output but it's usually good enough for domestic use.
yeah, all iron in wells is not the same and it requires different treatments


https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...gJoRv6Z2DbjvpQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-22-2016, 06:26 PM
300 H and H's Avatar
300 H and H 300 H and H is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,781
Thanks: 4,439
Thanked 3,842 Times in 1,457 Posts
300 H and H will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Well pressure switch is failing

I have iron in my well water here. I have a two tank Kenetico system designed specifically for high iron situations. It aerates the water in the first tank, coagulating it. That helps the special ceramic filters remove it, if I remember correctly.. The system has twin softeners side by side with the ceramic filter section sitting on top. One set of tanks is in use while the other is regenerating. That way you always have soft water. It also regenerates based on gallons used, not a simple timer. It requires no electricity to operate, as it contains a flow meter and only regenerates when you have used the prescribed amount of water.. I went from 40+ bags of salt with the "clock system" to 10 bags before we had kids. Now we are using about 24 bags per year. I have had one service call to clean the flow meter. That's the only issue I have had...

I have had this system for 20 years or more, and have no complaints.

Rereading your post I see the issue was ahead of the softener...

Regards, Kirk
__________________
Snow trac ST4 #267
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2016, 07:26 PM
Melensdad's Avatar
Melensdad Melensdad is offline
Jerk in a Hawaiian Shirt

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 35,992
Thanks: 2,331
Thanked 9,258 Times in 3,720 Posts
Melensdad has a spectacular aura aboutMelensdad has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Well pressure switch is failing

Quote:
Originally Posted by 300 H and H View Post
...

Rereading your post I see the issue was ahead of the softener...

Regards, Kirk
Yup, this is the pressure switch that is ahead of the filter & softener system that was faulty.

Iron had built up, over the past 21 years, causing the switch to fail.
__________________

"We are fast approaching the stage of the ultimate inversion:
the stage where the government is free to do anything it pleases,
while the citizens may act only by permission; which is the stage
of the darkest periods of human history, the stage of rule by brute force."
- Ayn Rand
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-23-2016, 12:38 AM
mbsieg's Avatar
mbsieg mbsieg is offline
awful member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Worland WY
Posts: 3,155
Thanks: 135
Thanked 122 Times in 90 Posts
mbsieg is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Well pressure switch is failing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melensdad View Post
Yup, this is the pressure switch that is ahead of the filter & softener system that was faulty.

Iron had built up, over the past 21 years, causing the switch to fail.
Glad it was just the switch!!
__________________
what a day........
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2016, 12:45 AM
Melensdad's Avatar
Melensdad Melensdad is offline
Jerk in a Hawaiian Shirt

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 35,992
Thanks: 2,331
Thanked 9,258 Times in 3,720 Posts
Melensdad has a spectacular aura aboutMelensdad has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Well pressure switch is failing

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbsieg View Post
Glad it was just the switch!!
Me too
__________________

"We are fast approaching the stage of the ultimate inversion:
the stage where the government is free to do anything it pleases,
while the citizens may act only by permission; which is the stage
of the darkest periods of human history, the stage of rule by brute force."
- Ayn Rand
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IMP oil pressure sender switch snow dog THIOKOL/LMC/DMC Technical Issues Forum 1 11-23-2010 07:09 PM
Are Politicians Failing the Lobbyists? Deadly Sushi Political Debate Forum 1 09-16-2009 10:19 PM
Switch Hitter vs Switch Pitcher CityGirl Sports & Sporting Goods Forum 0 08-08-2008 09:01 AM
Oil pressure switch Av8r3400 Cars, Trucks Forum 3 02-12-2006 10:54 PM





All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002 - 2018 www.ForumsForums.com