• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Cold Weather Survival (vehicle survival kits)

Snowcat Operations

SUPER Site Supporter
Well since I see we are getting a larger snowcat crowd I thought I might add a post on Cold Weather Survival. I have been driving Snowcats now for about 5 years. I have taken the "Safety One" Snowcat school and winter survival course. Does this make me an expert? NO. But I do work in this enviroment and have a better understanding than most people on how to survive in case something very wrong happens. Over the next few weeks as time permits I will be posting what I personally carry in my own survival kits when I venture out. Some kits are vehicle based others are portable. I would like to stress that a good survival course such as offered by Saftey One should be on anyones list if they work or play in these hostile enviroments. Below is a link to Saftey One.

http://www.safetyoneinc.com/sotc.html

Melensdad

Jerk in a Hawaiian Shirt & SNOWCAT Moderator
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
Re: Cold Weather Survival (survival kits)

While I rarely tavel to remote areas, I would be interested in your thoughts. In college I took a cold weather survival course where we went out in the woods with minimal food and gear for the weekends, trips were always scheduled based on weather (needed enough snow or we wouldn't go).

I want to put together 2 supply boxes for my Snow Trac. One with basic tools, tow straps, parts. The other with some survival/safety gear. While I am only looking for 'the basics' I'd like to know what is a 'critical' item versus what is simply a 'comfort' item.

Snowcat Operations