PDA

View Full Version : Accessing data from a hard drive


BadAttitude
11-08-2005, 11:30 PM
My last laptop had a problem with the power jack where it was soldered to the motherboard. Plastic part melted and not worth fixing either. Now that I have a new laptop, I would like to access the old hardrive to get a bunch of photos off it. Is there something inexpensive I can buy to do this? If there is, would I be able to use it(harddrive) as a storage device too?

The old unit was a Compaq Presario 1700 and the new is a Dell Inspiron 9300 if it matters.

:tiphat:

Big Dog
11-08-2005, 11:48 PM
I believe they make a docking station (I know they have them for desktops hardrives) for internal hardrives that would hook up to you computer with a USB port. The easiest way would be to try and hook up the old drive to the new machine for retrieval of your data.

I've hooked up old drives to new desktop machines for retrieval and added storage but laptops are new to me. The only thing I've fooled with on my laptops have been memory.

ddrane2115
11-09-2005, 12:16 AM
http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback&userid=insidecomputer&item=-1&frm=1883

insidecomputer 34671, ebay seller. I have bought from him, mine works fine.

or search for harddrive cases on ebay. Usually less than 15.00.

http://search.ebay.com/harddrive-cases_W0QQfromZR9QQfromZR9QQfsooZ1QQfsopZ1QQfsprZ1 QQsojsZ1QQsspagenameZSTRKQ3aMEFSRCHQ3aSRCH

BadAttitude
11-09-2005, 12:17 AM
I didn't find a docking station that would do what I needed for laptops...not yet anyways.
I wonder if something like this (http://www.bixnet.com/ezdattrankit.html) would work? It should for data access, but what about using the old drive for storage too?

ddrane2115
11-09-2005, 12:18 AM
Bigdog, they are no different, just smaller. I have replaced several of them, and getting ready to replace another one in my laptop, this will be number 3 in it. going to get new RAM also.

www.drivesolutions.com (http://www.drivesolutions.com)
they have them for anything

BadAttitude
11-09-2005, 12:25 AM
http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback&userid=insidecomputer&item=-1&frm=1883

insidecomputer 34671, ebay seller. I have bought from him, mine works fine.

or search for harddrive cases on ebay. Usually less than 15.00.

http://search.ebay.com/harddrive-cases_W0QQfromZR9QQfromZR9QQfsooZ1QQfsopZ1QQfsprZ1 QQsojsZ1QQsspagenameZSTRKQ3aMEFSRCHQ3aSRCH
Great! Thanks!! I think that is what I need.
Will my old Compaq hard drive require something specific? or will it work in any of those external drives listed?

Big Dog
11-09-2005, 12:30 AM
Yahoo! Learn something everyday..............:D

Thanks Danny

PBinWA
11-09-2005, 09:32 AM
CompUSA and similar stores typically sell 2.5 inch external hard drive enclosure's. You can get them in USB2 or Firewire. You would plug your old drive into this and then you would have an external backup solution.

If your new computer supports USB2 then go with that. Don't get something that is only USB 1.0 as it is really slow.

EBay's nice but if you don't want to wait and a CompUSA is near by then this is pretty convenient.

http://www.compusa.com/products/products.asp?N=0&Ntt=enclosure&Ntk=All&Nty=1&D=enclosure&Dx=mode%20matchall

BadAttitude
11-09-2005, 11:11 AM
CompUSA?...even better! There's one about 30 mins away. I'll have to make time to go there.
Thanks:tiphat: