PDA

View Full Version : Zoom high speed internet


nixon
03-02-2006, 12:03 PM
I've got a chance to get away from dial up internet. It's through the local cable company. The phone ,cable ,and intenet service will be provide by them for less than I now pay for dish tv, dial up ( which I really hate ,but haven't had an alternative) ,and phone service.
If any of You currently use zoom , would You share Your thoughts and experience with me ? Thanks, John

bczoom
03-02-2006, 01:37 PM
That's what I have (if you're referring to Armstrong's "Zoominternet").

As for support and service, they're absolutely fantastic. If they can't fix something on the phone, they'll normally have someone out the same day. Next day happens but it's rare unless you call late afternoon.

Except phone (They don't have phone to my knowledge but when they do, I'll be getting that as well), I have everything they offer.

I have their "Zoom 500" or whatever they call their fastest service. Using toast.net performance tests, it's normally in the top ISP's for speed.

For the TV, they offer all the different movie channels. Even with their recent price hike, it's still reasonable. You also get digital music channels and such.

They recently added "On Demand" service. Although Cinemax, Starz and Showtime haven't been fully implemented, HBO is pretty well loaded up. This allows me to pick any movie, start it whenever I want and pause/RW/FF... I think you have 24 hours before it deletes itself.

As for cost, here's what I have:
High-speed internet
47 movie channels
47 music channels
16 HD channels (more added regularly)
150+? regular channels
Cable modem
3 digital cable boxes (required for movie channels)
8 e-mail boxes
Taxes, FCC user fee...
$135-140/month.

OregonAlex
03-02-2006, 02:33 PM
Nixon,

how much is their phone service? You might save a little more money using someone else for your internet phone service. No one says you must use the phone service from zoom. Many companies who offer a flat "unlimited" phone plan are not doing you any favors. You can make long distance calls for about 1 to 1.3 cents/min to anywhere in the US. If you do the math, you will normally come in way under what you would pay for the unlimited flat rate.

How many minutes do you think you use per month? Look at your phone bill. I now typically pay about $13/mo for my internet telephone service. Which includes keeping my phone number and all outgoing calls at 1 cent/min. A call in number will cost you about $5-8/mo including all taxes and fees. Then you pay as you go for all out going calls with no additional monthly free. I use two different providers for outgoing. One for 1 cent/min and another for 1.3 cent/min. So I actually use three different companies.. One for incoming calls, and two for outgoing. Those so called unlimited plans are quite expensive in comparision. For the difference between, $5-9/ mo you can make a heck of a lot of calls at 1 cent/min before you get to a $30 unlimited plan. Roughly, 2500 minutes. That is a lot of talking!!!
We use about 500 min per month. So $5.00 worth. $8 + $5 = $13 total.


I have my own UNLOCKED analog telephone adapter, which allows me to pick and choose internet telephone providers as I see fit. Actually, I am running my own PBX (Phone Branch eXchange) in my house and have it maintain my dial plan rules, but that is another story.

I recommend what ever internet telephone service you choose you try to find one which lets you use your own UNLOCKED telephone adapter. Otherwise you will be stuck to whatever rates zoom wants to charge you, including overrage charges and international rates. Plus you can normally pick up your calls while at work on your computer.

If you do decide for one of those unlimited rate plan..and dont care about an UNLOCKED adapter, and would rather not buy your own.. take a look at Sunrocket. I believe they want $199/year for unlimited US long distance and much of western europe. That works out to around $16.59/mo. that includes all the fees. Probably quite a bit cheaper then what zoom offers.

Junkman
03-02-2006, 02:35 PM
If you live in a developement and can get a large group of people to join together in a group, where everyone pays one central person that remits the money, then you can usually get a very good group deal. I was able to piggy back on the campground that is next to me and expanded cable TV and high speed internet with Charter cost $300 a year paid in advance. I was paying $55 a month previously.

nixon
03-02-2006, 02:51 PM
Brian, That's exactly the same thing I'm looking at . (Well actually the wife is looking at )
They do offer a phone service now.
Alex , Thanks , I'll run Your suggestion by SWMBO . It makes good sense.
Junk, I live in the Sticks . No neighbors within even decent shooting distance :)
But thanks for the suggestion nevertheless.
All I know is that I'll be glad to be rid of the dial up "service" I have now . They sucked when We got it 5 years ago,and have gotten worse. But they were the only game in town so to speak .

bczoom
03-02-2006, 03:12 PM
They do offer a phone service now.
John,

They've had it but until recently (and I just found out a minute ago), I would not have been able to keep my existing phone number.

Brian

nixon
03-22-2006, 02:26 PM
Just an update. Had the service installed . What a difference it makes !! Access to web sites is super fast, and I can use the phone . The cable TV offers all the channels I had with Dish ,plus on demand movies,and a few HD channels . Another plus is it won't get blocked out during heavy weather as did the satellite system . Looks like I'll have to get a New TV ,my current one is a 1983 RCA console :) All in all I'm super pleased with it . And it is less expensive than the separate services I had with the phone, dish and dial up isp.

bczoom
03-22-2006, 02:40 PM
Glad to hear it's working well for you.:thumb:

After I got it in the living room, it expanded quickly... I've gone through a lot of coax in the past couple years...

Doc
03-22-2006, 02:59 PM
Congrats Nixon! :thumb:

Sure wish they'd hurry up and run the cable 200' to the pole in my yard so I'll be on high speed!

nixon
03-22-2006, 03:29 PM
:

After I got it in the living room, it expanded quickly... I've gone through a lot of coax in the past couple years...
That's one of the things I thought about when I had my house built . All the bedrooms and living room were wired for cable and phone in at least two places .
I also ran an extra underground conduit from the utility pole to pull cable /wiring through. Unfortunately ,I didn't think to cover the ends . It's full of Ice,so the cable will have to be rerouted when the conduit thaws :( Live and learn !

buy_25
03-23-2006, 08:15 PM
That's one of the things I thought about when I had my house built . All the bedrooms and living room were wired for cable and phone in at least two places .
I also ran an extra underground conduit from the utility pole to pull cable /wiring through. Unfortunately ,I didn't think to cover the ends . It's full of Ice,so the cable will have to be rerouted when the conduit thaws :( Live and learn !

That is a lot of wire, time etc when wireless is cheap, easy and jsut as fast..

I know I have had broadband for 6+ years and it is getting slow at 8 MB download... I have Direct TV (every channel you can possibly get with DVR) and still not enough. What do you want when 500+ DVD gets old...

bczoom
03-23-2006, 08:31 PM
That is a lot of wire, time etc when wireless is cheap, easy and jsut as fast..
Mike,

I believe John was referring to cable for TV and phone line. He didn't mention internet in that post.

buy_25
03-23-2006, 08:38 PM
Mike,

I believe John was referring to cable for TV and phone line. He didn't mention internet in that post.

Phone lines? Again washed time in my eyes but that is me. TV's are great but every room is a little over kill since the future is wireless in homes. To much tv kills...:D

OregonAlex
03-23-2006, 08:53 PM
That is a lot of wire, time etc when wireless is cheap, easy and jsut as fast..
if you have the option to run conduits and wire now.. do it!! don't kid yourself. Wire will be faster, cheaper if the additional labor involved is minimal. What Nixon did was the best thing to do. I don't belief for a second that anyone with the know how would turn their nose at wiring up their house for low voltage signaling and speaker cables, in favor of wireless, if the sheetrock was not yet up.

Doubt it was all that much labor as I am assuming the trench was already open for laying electrical and phone lines. A little pricey for the conduit but no where near the labor it took to have the trench dug in the first place.

To bad wireless has a limited range and is based on line of sight.. which doesn't like to go through trees and hills. And it will always be slower then a wire. Unless they figure out a way to make air is a better conductor then copper.




I know I have had broadband for 6+ years and it is getting slow at 8 MB download... I have Direct TV (every channel you can possibly get with DVR) and still not enough. What do you want when 500+ DVD gets old... How fast is your wireless? Have you done a test on the WiFi LAN to make sure the problem is not the wireless? btw, I am sure you know the Wifi speeds just like normal Ethernet wired rates are in specified total physical layer bandwidth, not net throughput.. right? The overhead of the wireless protocol itself is almost half of the bandwidth on say something like 802.11g. So to market 802.11g 54Mbit as being almost half as fast as 100Mbit wired ethernet is a bit misleading. It is more like 1/4 the speed without any noise and signal problems. Also note.. anyone running wiring in their house will be happy to know that if they ran CAT-5e, it is good for 1000 Mbits/sec. Unfortunately, CAT-5 (without the "e" - for Enhanced) is most likely only good for 100Mbit/sec. Another bonus about the same CAT5 cable can be used for either phone or ethernet. I know some product which use it for video instead of RG-5 or 6.


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/802.11g

buy_25
03-23-2006, 09:02 PM
so now I have toworry about my wireless going outside?????? I do not take my laptop outside. For inside a house, wireless is the future as I stated before. Pulling wires is nice it you have time energy etc; but, why. When a $59 linksys can say more time and money. the days of me pulling wires etc are over. Add router, a card in laptop and be off. 10 minutes of pc time of 10 hours of pulling cable. Another problem I see if you pull all this wire and in 5 years, 90% of the wires are outdated. Routers are cheap and so it pc items.

Right now my download is over 6.1 MB on my laptop. My 2 other pc's (mine) are over 8 right now. It is fun to test all three out. Best is seeing which one can burn a DVD the fastest. 8 minutes is my best.

OregonAlex
03-23-2006, 09:17 PM
That's one of the things I thought about when I had my house built . All the bedrooms and living room were wired for cable and phone in at least two places .
I also ran an extra underground conduit from the utility pole to pull cable /wiring through. Unfortunately ,I didn't think to cover the ends . It's full of Ice,so the cable will have to be rerouted when the conduit thaws :( Live and learn !

Nixon,
It is cool tat you ran two phone jacks to most rooms.. Have you considered converting one of those jacks in each room to Ethernet? what kind of cable did you use? did you wire to a patch panel or did you make the same mistake I did and ran all the telephone wires in a daisy chain. I ran seperate Ethernet wires in a star fashion, but I guess I should have just ran the telephone the same way too. oh well.

OregonAlex
03-23-2006, 09:19 PM
so now I have toworry about my wireless going outside?????? I do not take my laptop outside.
sorry Buy_25.. I was thinking you were commenting on Nixon running "underground" conduit as being too expensive. I guess you don't think that was a bad idea after all.

OregonAlex
03-23-2006, 09:24 PM
for me.. I do both wired and wireless.

Wireless,
Inside: if was not smart enough to run an ethernet jack to where I wanted it or if I need to be portable. Most things other then my laptop don't need to be portable. In most cases the wireless connection will be more expensive and slower then a wire.
Outside: If I need to connect two buildings together, like the house and shop(s) and I was not smart enought to dig trench it "right" the first time. Or perhaps you have an outside wifi device like a video camera or a driveway gate. Or perhaps you are being nice and sharing your broadband connections with the neighbors.

Luckly, I did at least this right the first time on this property. From the street.. 1/4 mile to the house and between house and shop (100 ft). Two CAT-5e and 2 RG-6 in each trench.

buy_25
03-24-2006, 06:05 AM
sorry Buy_25.. I was thinking you were commenting on Nixon running "underground" conduit as being too expensive. I guess you don't think that was a bad idea after all.

no need to be sorry. Anything underground is cool! :)

bczoom
03-30-2006, 09:35 PM
John,

What do you think of the phone service?

I'm thinking of putting a phone line on it.

Where does it connect? I hope it's where everything comes into the house as I don't want to back-track through the modem.

Brian

nixon
03-30-2006, 09:52 PM
John,

What do you think of the phone service?

I'm thinking of putting a phone line on it.

Where does it connect? I hope it's where everything comes into the house as I don't want to back-track through the modem.

Brian
Brian the phone service is transparent as far as any differences go . No new wiring. They did add one box. I have no idea of what it is ,or does. The cable from the house goes into it ,and the phone line,and computer connections come out of it . Sorry if the answer seems somewhat ignorant . But like B25 said,"I suck at the internet" :)

lilnixon
04-13-2006, 01:55 PM
Brian,
The phone uses the existing phone lines they disconnected the box that Sprint had on the side of the house, but it is still there if we decide to use them again. (NOT). And we got to keep our existing phone number. Nice to be able to call John when he is playing on the internet.

Janelle

bczoom
04-13-2006, 02:46 PM
Thanks Janelle,

I am going to switch one of my phone lines to the zoom service.

I just need to get the ball rolling.

I'm going to have to move some internal phone jack wires since I'm going to put the zoom on my home office line. I want to put one or 2 more phones in the house on my business line so Mrs. Zoom can use it for long distance.

Brian

PS. Did John figure out the remote for the TV yet? :yum: :yum:

bczoom
09-06-2006, 08:14 PM
Bump,

Hey John - have you figured out the remote yet? :yankchain:

I got one of my phone lines on their internet service now. Dropped a couple new phones throughout the house and buildings and now Mrs. Zoom doesn't kill me on the long distance bill.

Have you been using their "On Demand" function? It's nice with the movie channels. Now I don't need to wait/look for something to come on. I just pick and watch whatever show or movie I want, whenever I want.

Brian

bczoom
07-15-2010, 01:31 PM
Bump.

Zoom just increased our internet speed.
10Mb/s Download
2Mb/s Download

I just did a speed test and sure enough, that's about what I'm getting.
http://www.speedtest.net/
http://www.speedtest.net/result/880780585.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

muleman
07-15-2010, 02:01 PM
Don't I wish they would around here! Will have to get on them about that and see if we are going to get any better around here. :hammer:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/880816778.png

Cowboy
07-15-2010, 02:24 PM
Well , it could be worse folks :sad:








http://www.speedtest.net/result/880835814.png

bczoom
07-15-2010, 02:53 PM
Don't I wish they would around here! Will have to get on them about that and see if we are going to get any better around here. :hammer:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/880816778.png
????

You have a zoom e-mail address but in that speed test, it says your ISP is INOC, LLC.
Did Armstrong buy a local company in your area and have not yet put you under their zoom internet yet?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/880816778.png

muleman
07-15-2010, 06:07 PM
I have no idea. They are the local phone co for this area and we are on a dsl line. My whole deal is $70 a month for unlimited phone and dsl.

Gatorboy
07-15-2010, 08:02 PM
I just got FiOS this week. I love it!

http://www.speedtest.net/result/881129506.png

pirate_girl
07-16-2010, 12:59 AM
46406

I never understand this test.
What are the good or bad numbers?

EastTexFrank
07-16-2010, 01:15 AM
46406

We all knew you were a fast lady. :yum::yum::yum:

Me, I'm still on WiFi. But hey, it's still so much faster than dial-up (about 40 times faster) that I'm not complaining. We still have a land line because cellular out here doesn't work unless you are standing in 2 particular spots in the driveway. We do have satellite though but I'm not a real big TV watcher. I do envy you guys your internet access though. Maybe one day ......

pirate_girl
07-16-2010, 01:17 AM
We all knew you were a fast lady. :yum::yum::yum:

Me, I'm still on WiFi. But hey, it's still so much faster than dial-up (about 40 times faster) that I'm not complaining. We still have a land line because cellular out here doesn't work unless you are standing in 2 particular spots in the driveway. We do have satellite though but I'm not a real big TV watcher. I do envy you guys your internet access though. Maybe one day ......


Frank!!!!!!!!!:hammer:
I really don't know what those numbers mean unless someone breaks them down and explains them.

thcri
07-16-2010, 01:31 AM
46406

I never understand this test.
What are the good or bad numbers?


PG,

The ping you want low. Yours is good.
The Download you want high. That is the amount of MB's per second you can pull files into your computer.
The Upload you want high also. That is the amount of MB's per second you can send files out.

You have good numbers.

pirate_girl
07-16-2010, 01:47 AM
PG,

The ping you want low. Yours is good.
The Download you want high. That is the amount of MB's per second you can pull files into your computer.
The Upload you want high also. That is the amount of MB's per second you can send files out.

You have good numbers.

Thank you Steve. :smile:

Cowboy
07-16-2010, 08:18 AM
PG,

The ping you want low. Yours is good.
The Download you want high. That is the amount of MB's per second you can pull files into your computer.
The Upload you want high also. That is the amount of MB's per second you can send files out.

You have good numbers.


So Mines really good then , right ? :sad:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/880835814.png

thcri
07-16-2010, 08:49 AM
So Mines really good then , right ? :sad:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/880835814.png

No yours is not good.

Cowboy
07-16-2010, 08:53 AM
No yours is not good.


Thanks for clearing that up thcri , You should have seen it before DSL was available out here :yum: .

thcri
07-16-2010, 08:55 AM
I had dial up for many years at home. Now I have a 1.5 meg line that I think is slow. Wished I had one of them larger ones.

Cowboy
09-01-2010, 01:50 PM
I thought I,d update this , since they just upped my speed a bit . I dont really understand what this means . But hopefully for another 15 bucks a month its better . I haven,t really had a chance to see if its any faster though from my earlier post . Any thoughts :biggrin:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/936669788.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Doc
09-01-2010, 02:51 PM
Not bad Cowboy. Off peak hours I would expect it to be a little better. This speed is fast enough for watching a movie or tv show real time via netflix or hulu. :thumb:
If you wanna see a fast time look at Gatorboys post further up the page. Now that's FAST!!!

NorthernRedneck
09-01-2010, 03:44 PM
This is what my computer at work shows...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/936815388.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Big Dog
09-01-2010, 04:53 PM
Best available DSL to my little ol' country home!

http://www.speedtest.net/result/936899057.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

OhioTC18
09-01-2010, 06:20 PM
This is what I just got

http://www.speedtest.net/result/936984733.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

tommu56
09-01-2010, 06:26 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/936991065.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

NorthernRedneck
09-01-2010, 06:34 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/936998517.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
from home

Doc
09-01-2010, 06:35 PM
Here's mine:

pirate_girl
09-01-2010, 11:39 PM
right now..

47614

Cowboy
09-02-2010, 06:23 AM
Perty interesting seeing others , Looks like mine still sucks compared to everyone elses :hammer: . I,m curious what the deal is on the ping # mine seems way higher then anyone elses ?

My wifes working from home this morning using wireless through my line & she said it seems much faster to her . I cant tell any difference :sad: .

Cowboy
09-02-2010, 11:34 AM
I didn,t realize it could change accrding to the time of day . i just checked it again & it got a bit better :clap:

I still dont understand what ping is or why mines much higher then everyone elses :sad:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/937867824.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Doc
09-02-2010, 12:08 PM
Here is mine for today Cowboy. This will make you feel a bit better. I'm using an air card (it uses the cell phone towers to satellite for communications) Better than dial up but slow. You beat all my numbers. :D

Ping is a communications test. It sends a packet from your computer to a known destination and that destination responds, so it's a round trip test of how long it takes a packet (bit of data) to leave your computer and get acknowledgment that it was received on the target computer. The lower the number the quicker the connection.

Notice from my speedtest it defaulted to Tampa even though I'm sitting in WV. My signal is going through space and back. LOL

Cowboy
09-02-2010, 12:15 PM
Here is mine for today Cowboy. This will make you feel a bit better. I'm using an air card (it uses the cell phone towers to satellite for communications) Better than dial up but slow. You beat all my numbers. :D

Ping is a communications test. It sends a packet from your computer to a known destination and that destination responds, so it's a round trip test of how long it takes a packet (bit of data) to leave your computer and get acknowledgment that it was received on the target computer. The lower the number the quicker the connection.

Notice from my speedtest it defaulted to Tampa even though I'm sitting in WV. My signal is going through space and back. LOL


:wow:Thanks for the xplain Doc , I hate to say it but it really does make me feel better :yum: :hide::beer:.

pirate_girl
09-04-2010, 12:42 AM
Right now-

47658

AndyM
09-10-2012, 05:50 PM
BIMP!

We currently have DSL through our local phone company, along with telephone service. We're paying $64.99 a month for 6 Mbps service and it includes local and unlimited long distance telephone service. Once you figure in the taxes and fees, $64.99 turns into $85.98 per month. We're trying to cut unnecessary expenses, so being that we both have cell phones, the land line isn't really needed, but it doesn't appear the phone company will offer DSL by itself. So, now I'm looking at Zoom internet... Nixon, bczoom, and others in the area... what is your current opinion of service, price, etc? I just want an internet connection fast enough to play Netflix (10 mbps I assume is good, since 6 is working with my DSL). I'm not interested in Armstrong's cable services, or Dish Network of any kind.

muleman
09-10-2012, 07:37 PM
10 mb is what I have now that they updated all the wires from the mux to my place. With unlimited long distance it runs $72 a month with all the taxes included. It is nice to have a land line for 911 as the cell numbers are not as accurate for location etc. We have enhanced 911 and it will send EMS or fire right to my door.

bczoom
09-10-2012, 10:09 PM
My internet is running at $39.95.
1st phone is $34.95 (2nd is $24.95, 3rd is $4.50).

My statement doesn't say which speed of internet we're running but we've gone through 53G from 8/15 to today. In general, it flies. We can run 5-6 computers/iPads... plus a couple TV's and 2 phones going on all at once and nobody will notice a slowdown.

Doc
09-11-2012, 08:50 AM
My internet is running at $39.95.
1st phone is $34.95 (2nd is $24.95, 3rd is $4.50).


That is extremely expensive voip phone fees.
You can get your internet and cable from zoom or any cable company but it is not always a good idea to package your phone with the same company.

I have time warner and at the time i switched from conventional phone to voip vonage was a good deal. it was 24 bucks a month while time warners was 34 per month. Then after a year with vonage I found about about Voipo http://www.voipo.com/ they were at 11 bucks a month with all fees included. Now Voipo is running a special where if you switch to them you get two years of service for $129. :eek: That works out to a little over 5 bucks per month. Of course you get free long distance along with caller ID and other features all included for that low price. Worth checking out for sure. They have business packages too, where you can get multiple lines.