PDA

View Full Version : Any mainframe computer people here?

bczoom
01-30-2006, 02:11 PM
Besides me...

For years they've been saying the mainframes are going away but they (and us mainframe programmers) are still here. :thumb:

beds
01-30-2006, 02:32 PM
Yup, I still do a bit on the old mainframe, but mostly server-side now. In our organization, the price of DASD has fallen so much that the old host isn't lookin' so costly! We still have postings for COBOL programmers.

Nothin' like the glory days at the turn of the century! How did I manage to squander all of that money!:eek:

kensfarm
01-30-2006, 02:33 PM
Worked w/ them while I was in college.. but most work since has been converting mainframe systems to client/server. Biggest one was for DOD DMLSS.. we had a 6 month run to help EDS make there contract deadlines in the system development.. we made the deadline.. contract renewed.. stayed there for about 6 years at Fort Detrick.

DaveNay
01-30-2006, 02:46 PM
I'm not a mainframe programmer....but I am a large-frame programmer. :yum:

Oh...and I stayed at a Holiday Inn last night.

bczoom
01-30-2006, 03:03 PM
Yup, I still do a bit on the old mainframe, but mostly server-side now. In our organization, the price of DASD has fallen so much that the old host isn't lookin' so costly! We still have postings for COBOL programmers.
Yep, DASD is cheap... and everyone has lots of it. The one application I'm on now has several terrabytes (that's trillion's) of info online. What I also find amazing is that they can put the entire contents of the MF on 3 cartridges for offsite backups.

Nothin' like the glory days at the turn of the century! How did I manage to squander all of that money!:eek:
The Y2K boom kind of ruined the consulting business for me.

beds
01-30-2006, 03:18 PM
The Y2K boom kind of ruined the consulting business for me.

Well, my rates dropped by, hmm, 50% post-Y2K! Is that what you mean?