• Please be sure to read the rules and adhere to them. Some banned members have complained that they are not spammers. But they spammed us. Some even tried to redirect our members to other forums. Duh. Be smart. Read the rules and adhere to them and we will all get along just fine. Cheers. :beer: Link to the rules: https://www.forumsforums.com/threads/forum-rules-info.2974/

Need a new Monitor. Recommendations?

California

Charter Member
Site Supporter
I've been using a 22" CRT monitor that has run flawless for 8 years, then today it's gone flaky and shuts off intermittently. I may try to get it repaired, I like it that much. But I probably need a replacement.

Are LCD monitors now up to the fine resolution of a good glass monitor? I want one that will show photos with good detail right down to the last - well never mind. :tongue: Good detail.

What should I be looking for?

Any specific recommendations?

Doc

Bottoms Up
Staff member
GOLD Site Supporter
Yes GB. Just a few months ago I traded in my 21" Panasonic monitor for two 19" flat screens. They had a hard time convincing me to give up the 21", but I have to admit, I've adjusted well.
I think CRT's are multiplying in my basement. For servers I have running at home but normally remote desktop to there is no reason to spend cash on a flat screen for them. I only use the monitor on them once every few months. CRT does fine.

Erik

SelfBane
Site Supporter
the newer flat panels have fine resolution, they weigh less, take up less desk space, generate less waste heat, and use less electricity to run -- which doesn't mean much in a home situation, but made a difference in the electric bills at work when we went from 160 dual CRT workstations to LCD.

XeVfTEUtaAqJHTqq

Master of Distraction
Staff member
SUPER Site Supporter
I found that you are going to pay a lot of a single high res LCD Monitor. They are very expensive.